Tuesday, September 17, 2013

QUOTATION: Twelve Degrees of Humility

St. John of Avila

The first degree is the fear of God.

The second, is to deny our own will.

The third, is obedience.

The fourth, is patience.

The fifth, is the confession of sins.

The sixth, is contempt of oneself.

The seventh, is to prefer others to oneself, esteeming them more highly.

The eighth, is to avoid singularity in outward things.

The ninth, is to be silent unless spoken to.

The tenth, is not to be prompt to laughter.

The eleventh, is to speak little and with gravity.

The twelfth, is to prefer a low estate and occupation.

--St. John of Avila, Letters, II